MENÚ

Child Passenger Safety

Car Seat Check-ups are scheduled by appointment on Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. based on the availability of trained staff at Arkansas Children’s Hospital in Little Rock.  A Child Passenger Safety Technician will help evaluate the car seat currently in use, check that it is appropriate based on the child’s age & weight, ensure that it is installed correctly, and answer questions of parents, grandparents and caregivers so that they are comfortable installing the car seat.

Contact Charles Maxwell at MaxwellCT@archildrens.org or 501-364-5655 for additional information.

Arkansas Law and AAP Recommendations

  • Children are required to ride in an appropriate child safety restraint until they are at least 6 years of age or 60 lbs.
  • All children under 15 years of age must be buckled no matter where they are in the vehicle.
  • The Primary Seat Belt Law requires drivers and front seat passengers to be buckled up at all times.
  • Act 811 states that it is illegal to smoke in the car with a child who is less than 14 years old.
  • The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children stay rear-facing in their car seats until the age of 2 or until a child reaches the upper weight limits of his car seat.  Children should then stay forward-facing until they reach their seat's upper weight and height limits for that position.